Editor Wish Lists for July 2022

The editors at Entangled Publishing are always looking for the next breakout hit. Could that be your book? Each month, we have a new wish list from our editors. Watch for them as they’ll change monthly. Let’s discover each other today! All submissions can be sent through our Submittable system. The link can be found here: https://entangledpublishing.submittable.com/submit

If you’re looking for a specific editor and don’t see their name here, that means they are closed to submissions this month. Check back next month to see if they’ve reopened!

Liz Pelletier, Publisher

This month I’m putting out a special call for rom-coms! I’d love to see more projects with a super-engaging voice and laugh-out-loud funny. I’m looking for authors in the vein of Tessa Bailey, Emily Henry, Avery Flynn—if you think you’re the next big voice in romantic comedy, show me what you’ve got! And I’m always in search of inclusive stories and diverse authors.

Lydia Sharp, Assistant Publisher

I’m currently seeking a few, select projects in the following genres:

  • YA dystopian—must feel like a fresh take we haven’t seen before
  • Emotional, tearjerker romance that toes the line with women’s fiction
  • Domestic thrillers with a unique, high concept and little to no romance

Stacy Abrams, Editorial Director

For the Young Adult and New Adult lines, I’d love to find accessible fantasy and sci-fi with inclusive voices. For YA, I’m also looking for unique contemporary voices with a strong commercial hook, in particular with LGBTQ+ characters.

For the Amara adult line, I’m looking for sexy cowboy contemporaries with fresh concepts and tropes, laugh-out-loud rom-coms with unique, well-drawn characters, and more literary women’s fiction with strong emotional arcs and great high concepts. 

Molly Majumder, Editorial Director

Science Fiction Romance: Polaris Rising meets The Expanse. Anti-capitalist, climate fiction, I’d love to see romance blossoming as humanity tries to pick up the pieces from all the mistakes they’ve made. I’m big on found family as well, a la Space Sleepers!

Mythological Retellings: especially from underrepresented mythologies. I’d love to see some stories featuring Hindu or Islamic mythologies – Djinns, Vetalas, Chudails, and the like. Also looking to acquire ownvoices authors in this genre; Egyptian Mythology by Egyptian authors, Greek mythology by Greek authors.

Jen Bouvier, Editor

TEEN

In Fantasy:

First person present tense preferred.

Authors I love, but didn’t edit: Lily Anderson, Julia Ember, Emma Berquist

– dark, romantic, sweeping upper YA

– authentically written settings inspired by Scandinavia or Central America, but translated into High Fantasy. 

– a take on the underworld from a cultural background that’s not seen that often. Tuonela, Xibálba etc. 

– an accessible fae book that doesn’t assume any knowledge about the lingo. Also, where are the Scottish and Irish writers writing about seelies? Please show me

– I am so ready for some mermaids!

 

ADULT

In Contemporary RomComs:

Dual POV only.

Authors I love, but didn’t edit: Joya Goffney, Mia Sosa, Sophie Kinsella

– Would love to see some authentic Caribbean settings! 

– pretty much any high-concept spin on 00s RomComs 

– rivals-to-lovers with mutual respect from the start 

– Non-corporate professions. Something unusual and highly specialized. Always a fan of mixing up traditional gender roles too.

– two love interests and it’s not immediately clear who will end up together

In Paranormal Romance/Urban Fantasy:

The next True Blood. Steamy, fun, but not too dark. I’m pretty much only looking for standalone books with series potential here. I would like a world populated with Fantasy beings that all tie together in some way. Each book must be a complete standalone romance about one couple though. I particularly would like to see fresh takes on fae or vampires or any other fantasy being you don’t see a lot. 

In Historical Romance:

Georgian to Regency only. Dual POV only.

Authors I love, but didn’t edit: Olivia Waite, Cat Sebastian, Michelle McLean

I’m pretty open to most things and not difficult to hook here. Looking to add a lot more in this category! A great voice and a high-concept plot with solid pacing and accessible language is really enough to hook me. If it’s trope-heavy too, that’s the cherry on top. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.