#TemptingYourTastebuds Thursday with Annie Seaton


When Annie Seaton is not writing or reading, she loves to cook, so it’s not surprising that in her current Prickle Farm series there is lots of scrumptious country cooking. Gran’s chocolate cake is everyone’s favourite and wins prizes at the show in Her Outback Cowboy. Homemade pizzas feature in Her Outback Surprise so watch out for a pizza recipe next time Annie comes to visit!

A chocolate cake just like Gran makes . . .

From the CWA Cakes Cookbook.


2 cups self raising flour

3 tablespoons cocoa

1 1/2 cups sugar

1 1/2 cups milk

2 eggs

2 tablespoons butter, melted



Sift flour and cocoa into a bowl

 Add the sugar, milk and eggs and beat well

Add the melted butter and beat for another two minutes

Pour into a tin (recipe does not specify, use your common sense!) and bake in an oven at 180 degrees Celsius for 1 hour



Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting


100g butter

500g cream cheese

2 cups (320g icing sugar)

1/2 cup (50g) cocoa



Beat butter and cream cheese until pale and creamy

Add the icing sugar and cocoa and beat for 6-8 minutes until light and fluffy


Once the cake is on the oven, what’s Annie up to? She’s writing the next book in the Prickle Farm series, His Outback Nanny!



Have you read Her Outback Surprise? You can get it right now for just 99¢! But hurry, this deal ends soon!



Angie Edmonds is content with life in her small town. Being alone doesn’t bother her. Really. Until Liam Smythe, the man who broke her heart, shows up at her vet clinic with an injured puppy. Unfortunately, he’s just as irresistible as she remembers. In an attempt to prove to him that she’s moved on, somehow a little white lie begins…

When Liam returns to help run the family farm, his enjoyment of the slow life in Spring Downs surprises him. After all, he’s used to the thrill of chasing the next big story. Running into the girl he’s never been able to forget is unexpected, and he’s shocked to learn she’s getting married—to someone who’s not him. She’s off-limits, but Liam can’t stop thinking about the gorgeous vet and what could have been. But convincing her he’s changed will be harder than finding a needle in a haystack.

Each book in the Prickle Creek series is a standalone story that can be enjoyed out of order. 
Series Order:
Book #1 Her Outback Cowboy
Book #2 Her Outback Surprise




Annie Seaton lives on the edge of the South Pacific Ocean on the east coast of Australia with her own hero of many years. Their two children are now grown up and married, and three beautiful grandchildren have arrived. Now they share their home with Toby, the naughtiest dog in the universe, and two white cats. When she is not writing Annie can be found in her garden or walking on the beach… or most likely on her deck overlooking the ocean, camera in hand as the sun sets. Each winter, Annie and her husband leave the beach to roam the remote areas of Australia for story ideas and research. Readers can contact Annie through her website annieseaton.net or find her on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.



About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.