Wish list for November 2018

Nov 9, 2018 by

Goodbye, October. Hello, November! This month is all about being thankful for where you are in your life no matter what is happening right now. It’s also time for our latest wish list as the editors at Entangled Publishing are looking for the next breakout hit. Could that be your book? Make sure to read until the end as we have some special calls as well. Each month, we have a new wish list from our editors. Watch for them as they’ll change monthly. Let’s discover each other today!

All submissions can be sent through our Submittable system. The link can be found here: http://www.entangledpublishing.com/submission-information/

 

November 2018 wish list

General Entangled submission requests:

  • Rom-coms! We love ‘em. Send them all!
  • We are always on the hunt for high-concept books featuring marginalized characters.

 

Stacy Cantor Abrams, Editorial Director of Entangled Teen

  • Adult contemporary romance featuring cowboys
  • Short contemporary romances for the Crush line with new takes on traditional tropes, and can be either single or dual POV

 

Alethea Spiridon, Editorial Director of August and Scorched

A polyamory story about three people who find a way to make their thruple situation work, for Scorched. High level, high concept, single title voice.

 

Alycia Tornetta, Editorial Director

Romance:

  • Contemporary feat. animals. Vets, dog groomers, animal rescuers, etc. Or just heroes/heroines who have a special animal in their life.
  • Fun, heartfelt sweet romance with a high-concept hook
  • Romantic comedy with fresh premise
  • Diverse historical romance
  • Highlanders!
  • Small-town romance in the vein of Sheila Roberts and Sherryl Woods.
  • Strong heroines

YA:

  • Black comedy in the vein of Heathers orSaved!
  • Something set during the summer after graduation. Maybe feat. traveling or a road trip.
  • Historical fantasy
  • Stories that bend genres in interesting ways
  • Something a bit dark and paranormal (brought to you by The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina)

 

Candace Havens, Editorial Director of Embrace and AMARA digital

AMARA: We’re looking for big stories, with memorable characters, and a strong romance (or romances) throughout. In contemporary, we want those big ideas with a fun twist. Historical we want Vikings, Regencies, and we’re always happy about Highlanders. In paranormal, we’re looking for big, high-concept ideas with brotherhoods or band of brothers type stories. And we want high-stakes thrillers with a strong, slow-burn romance. We are especially seeking diverse stories with high concept ideas. These novels must be 80k and above.

EMBRACE: We’re looking for big stories with sexy romances that have characters either in late university life or just starting out in “real life.” We are especially seeking diverse stories and high concept ideas.

 

Lydia Sharp, Editor & Acquisitions Manager

I’d love to see more adventure-driven stories in YA, any genre. Brisk-paced, thrilling, and a concept that feels new, or a familiar concept with a new twist.

 

Wendy Chen, Editor

Wendy Chen is looking for a fresh voice for Bliss or August lines. I would love a non-US setting, or non-American hero. Truly modern voice and high romantic tension is a must. Animals and babies really tug on my heartstrings. Diverse main and secondary characters welcome and encouraged.

Related Posts

Share This

1 Comment

  1. Stephanie

    Hello Heather! Could you please tell me if the wish list will be updated soon? Thank you for your help.

Leave a Comment